Final Audio Story

When I was creating this I was thinking of radio shows that I have listened to in the past such as NPR or other talk radio shows.  One thing that stands out in my memory of these shows was they almost always started with a clip of catchy music before they jump into the topic that they wanted to discuss. I chose to follow that format with this audio story.

I song that I chose is called “These Days’ by Robin Grey and is a creative commons song that I found on freemusicarchive.org.

http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Robin_Grey/Only_The_Missle/These_Days

I chose this song because I felt like it was upbeat and catchy but at the same time captures the sound of authentic string music which is actually very popular in Colorado right now. Since the show is focused on being a local Colorado show, I felt using this song would give it more of a Colorado feel.

With the topic itself I wanted to give the impression that the topic was more than just a feature of a local business but that it also reflected a current popular trend that was newsworthy. To do this I introduced the topic by mentioning two well-known magazines that have ran articles about green juice in the last 30 days.

The two magazines are Forbes and Men’s Journal. Here are links to those articles.

http://www.mensjournal.com/expert-advice/the-best-green-juice-you-can-buy-in-a-bottle-20150929

http://www.forbes.com/sites/gracebanks/2015/10/01/meet-londons-green-juice-dynamos/

I then wrote a script for the introduction of the interview and recorded it. I then took the music, my script, and an earlier recorded interview and put them all together for this story.

For my final revision of this product the main feedback that I received was that my interview’s voice was too quiet and that there were some filler words and silent spaces in the audio.

To fix this I went through the audio and raised the volume on all of her speaking parts. I also used the razor and move tools to cut out most of the filler words and silent spaces during the interview.

I think the final version flows much better and is a good audio piece.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment